Public & Patients

Find a dermatologist in your area, read more about dermatology and most common skin diseases. Get to know the various patient associations.
publicPatients

Dermatology and COVID-19

You will find an interesting link on Dermatology and COVID-19 here.

What is dermatology?

Skin diseases and diseases of the mucous membranes, nails and hairs are very common and are often an important reason for long-term illnesses, especially in case of chronic skin diseases.

  • Only a few skin diseases are life-threatening, but it is possible for example with reactions to certain drugs, as a result of bee and wasp stings, in case of serious auto-immune diseases or certain types of skin cancer like melanoma.
  • Serious chronic diseases are more common and can have an extensive impact on people's quality of life, for instance in case of psoriasis, atopic dermatitis and chronic wounds. Sexually transmitted diseases like HIV often first manifest themselves as a skin problem.

Some skin diseases may not seem very bad, but their psychological impact and impact on personal development can be quite severe, for example in case of serious acne, disfiguring birthmarks, hair loss and congenital skin defects.

Advocacy & position statements

We represent the interests of dermatologists and their patients. We try to do this by conducting research, holding inquiries, providing continuous education and sharing of relevant information, but also by putting certain subjects on the political agenda and by influencing the public opinion.

Patient Associations

Psoriasis Liga Vlaanderen

The Psoriasis Liga Vlaanderen (PLV) supports and informs patients with Psoriasis of the skin or Psoriasis of the joints (PsA).

Read more

Melanoompunt

The Melanoompunt Association wants to be a beacon by providing in all the needs for Melanoma patients and their families.

Read more

Eczemanet/Allergienet

Eczemanet is a patients' association for people with atopic dermatitis and eczema, founded by the non-profit organization Allergnietnet.

Read more

Public & Patients

Trouver un Dermatologue près de chez vous, trouver plus de détails sur les principales maladies de peau. Faire la connaissance avec plusieurs associations de patients.
publicPatients

Dermatologie et COVID-19

Veuillez trouver ici un lien intéressant sur la dermatologie et COVID-19 (en Anglais).

Qu'est-ce que la dermatologie?

La dermatologie est une discipline médicale depuis 2 siècles et prend en charge les problèmes de peau, des cheveux, des ongles et la muqueuse. Les maladies de peau, des ongles et des cheveux sont fréquentes et sont souvent des maladies prolongées, surtout lorsqu’il s'agit de maladies chroniques.

  • Peu de maladies de peau peuvent engager le pronostic vital, mais c'est quand-même possible p.e. avec les réactions aux médicaments, aux piqûres d'abeilles et de guêpes, avec des maladies auto-immunes sérieuses et avec certains types de cancer de la peau comme les mélanomes.
  • Des maladies chroniques sérieuses sont plus fréquents et les personnes touchées arrivent ainsi à une situation où c'est difficile de vivre une vie complète, p.e. avec psoriasis, la dermatite atopique ou dans le cas de plaies chroniques. Les maladies sexuellement transmissibles comme HIV se manifestent souvent d'abord par un problème de peau.

Certains maladies de peau ne semblent pas trop grave à première vue, mais leurs effets psychologiques et le frein à l'épanouissement personnel sont souvent profonds p.e. dans le cas d'acné sérieux, de taches de naissances, des pertes de cheveux et d' affections de la peau congénitales.

Plaidoyer, campagnes et prises de positions

Nous nous engageons pour défendre les intérêts des Dermatologues et des patients. Par les recherches scientifiques, la réalisation d'enquêtes, la création de formations et l'échange d'informations, mais aussi par exemple : inscrire un sujet à l'ordre du jour politique et alerter l'opinion publique sur un point particulier.

Les principales maladies de peau

Mélanomes (cancers de la peau)

Lire la suite

Vitiligo

Lire la suite

Psoriasis

Lire la suite