About the Royal Belgian Society for Dermatology and Venerology (RBSDV)

The RBSDV is a society of dermatologists with the aim of promoting the study of the skin en its many diseases. .
Our mission is: Maximum Skin Health for All!

Our objective

The objective of our society is the promotion of the study of the skin and its many diseases. There are 815 dermatologists in Belgium (2018).

Next to scientific activities and professional standards the RSBDV also has a public objective, namely informing the public and organisations on the prevention and approach of skin diseases.

Furthermore, the RBSDV represents the image of our specialism towards the government, the press, the pharmaceutical companies and other medical professional groups.

Word of the president

As a scientific society and as dermatologists we strive towards a ‘maximal skin health for all”, our mission! With the Professional Association we ensure that we can exercise our profession in a qualitative way, and that we can communicate our qualities towards our stakeholders (citizens, industry, government). For that reason, we provide training, live and online, we provide access to up to date guidelines and recommendations, we award scientific prizes, we offer grants and we work at specific projects. Through our society we also offer visibility to our subdisciplines as child dermatology, allergy, skin cancer, technical expertise as dermoscopy, laser and dermo pathology. We are also defending our expertise towards the outside world and represent the Belgian Dermatology within the International League of Dermatological Societies.

Board Members

The board of the society was elected and approved on the General Assembly of March 5, 2021 and is composed as follows:

  • President: Prof Dr Véronique del Marmol
  • Vice-president: Prof Dr Jan Gutermuth
  • Secretary : Dr Bernard Bouffioux
  • Treasurer: Prof Dr Julien Lambert
  • Members: Prof Dr Marie Baeck, Prof Dr Marjan Garmyn, Prof Dr Jo Lambert, Prof Dr Arjen Nikkels, Dr Katrien Vossaert and Dr Fabienne Willaert
  • Young Members: Dr. Isabelle Hoorens, Dr. Jonathan Krygier, Dr. Gaëlle Leemans.
  • Manager : Mrs. Jennifer Robinson
  • Assistant manager : Gaël van de Werve

The RBSDV is a non-profit organisation established under law of June 27, 1921 with the identification number 523/92.


Del Marmol

Véronique Del Marmol

Jan Gutermuth

Jan Gutermuth


Julien Lambert

Bernard Bouffioux

Bernard Bouffioux

Jo profielfoto Linkedin

Jo Lambert

Marie Baeck2

Marie Baeck

Foto Garmyn

Marjan Garmyn.

Photo Arjen

Arjen Nikkels

Prof. Dr. Arjen F. Nikkels obtained his MD degree in 1990 at the University of Liège, Belgium and his PhD degree on varicella zoster virus diagnostic methods in 1997. Since 2008, he is a full professor of dermatology and head of department at the CHU of Liège, Belgium. He authored and co-authored more than 235 scientific articles (PUBMED hits) and co-authored many dermatology textbooks. His h-index in Google scholar is 30 with 3066 citations and 192 peer-reviewed articles, in Scopus: 27. Five PhD theses have been published. His clinical trial team has participated in more than 70 major psoriasis and atopic dermatitis trials over the last 15 years.


Katrien Vossaert.

Fabienne Willaert

Fabienne Willaert

Dr Hoorens 2023 KBVDV

Isabelle Hoorens.

G Leemans2

Gaëlle Leemans

Jonathan Krygier4

Jonathan Krygier.